My fourtieth was one of the best birthdays I’ve had in a while. We celebrated over a long weekend, just like a like to, ending it with a trip to the Peninsula Hot Springs.

Bradley and I dropped the children off a crèche and drove down the peninsula that boarders Port Phillip Bay. At the end of our journey we were welcomed into the Spa Dreaming Centre,  given fluffy white robes and towels and sent on our way to the springs.

Water rises up from an aquifer 637 metres below the surface rising to within 9 metres of the surface under its own pressure. The thermal mineral water temperature in the many pools varies from 36ºC to 43ºC. It is filled with all sorts of minerals that are meant to be good for you, but I think the best things for me that day were truly having the day off with Bradley, sitting in hot tubs and laying about in the winter sun; letting our conversation ebb and flow over the day. What a relaxing and perfect start to a new decade!