Image

Just recently I believe we may have turned a corner in our parenting career: moving from the baby phase into the golden age of parenthood. This is the time when your children are no longer in nappies and not yet teenagers; a time of fertile imaginations; unfettered creativity;  unending questions, exploration and wonder. It is a time when magic can happen in young minds. I distinctly remember this phase with my own sister and so enjoy watching Morgan and Vivien head into this part of their lives.

It is also a wonderful time for Bradley and me as parents. Before children we were avid project-doers. There was always some sort of cooking, gardening or house project to do at our place. We loved being productive in our home, making things, fossicking around the place or putting in a “good stint” in the garden. When we had Morgan and Vivien, this part of our lives was put on hold for a few years. Over the last month, however, we’ve  welcomed this part of our lives back as we’ve been able to do a few projects together while the kids played happily nearby. As the hands-on parenting requirements relinquish their grasp on our time, I can feel us all heading towards a wonderful time together with the promise of some magical moments here and there along the way. (I’ve captured one such small moment for myself in the above photo, staring out the window at the end of the day, glass of wine in hand while I watch the girls play outside.) Ahhh…