photo 2

Today we celebrated Thanksgiving with family and friends in New York and I think it will be one of my most memorable to date. The Macy’s Day parade added a great deal of entertainment and excitement to the day. We are staying in my aunt’s apartment which happens to be on one of the streets the parade balloons get blown up on. The whole process is an impressive logistical endeavor and we were captivated by it for hours yesterday and today.

photo 3

The rest of the day was rather quiet. My mum and I took a walk with the girls while Bradley nearly single-handedly cooked us a Thanksgiving feast. Later in the evening our guests arrived and we all enjoyed a wonderful meal together. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday because it is all about family and friends coming together and enjoying a feast. There are no presents to be bought no expectations, no stress. It is the start of the holiday season and a time to reflect and give thanks.

I am thankful for the time I have had to spend with family this year.

I have been able to see my mother about seven times this year rather once in eighteen months as I did in Australia. Because my sister and I now live in the same time zone, I speak to her nearly every day rather than once or twice a year as our small windows of time we have to talk are now aligned. My father calls regularly just to chat. I am also thankful for the time I have with Morgan and Vivien at the moment. Becoming a stay at home mum was a result of circumstance rather than a conscious decision, but I feel the time with them is important in this phase of their lives. I know it will end more quickly than I can imagine. I am thankful for the time we have had this year with my aunts who make our lives rounder and fuller, who are now an important part of Morgan and Vivien’s lives. I suppose that is always the case for couples with young children. Perhaps next year I will be thankful for having even more…

Wishing you all a very happy Thanksgiving and start to the holiday season!

photo 1